Instituted in 1982, USC's Academic Honors Convocation has its origins in a special centennial faculty convocation held in October 1980 as "a symbol of the debt we owe to those who have contributed to the first 100 years of academic achievement at USC," according to President Zumberge. Among the honorees at that event were (pictured, from left) Anton Burg, J. Paul Guilford, Harold von Hofe, Morris M. Mautner, Robert Vivian, Hugh Edmondson, Halsey Stevens and Arlien Johnson.